Hit and Run / Leaving the Scene
Every individual is required by Ohio law to stop following an accident on a public highway or road. If you fail to do so, you could be charged with hit and run, leaving the scene, or a hit-skip accident. If the accident resulted in serious injury or death, you may be charged with a misdemeanor or felony offense that can result in significant legal consequences.
Not every person accused of hit and run crimes leaves the scene of the crash for fear of being at fault or being caught for a separate crime, like operating a vehicle impaired (OVI). Some drivers are unaware there was an accident, some might not know they caused any damage, and others might have had an emergency situation that prevented them from stopping to exchange personal information.
Dayton Hit and Run Lawyer
If you have been accused of hit and run / leaving the scene in Montgomery County, it is in your best interest to seek out professional legal counsel as soon as possible. The capable hit skip attorneys at the Joslyn Law Firm help individuals in Dayton as well Piqua, Huber Heights, Troy, and Springfield with aggressive defenses to hit and run / leaving the scene charges.
We can investigate your collision and develop a defense that helps minimize the penalties you incur as a result of your accident. Contact the Joslyn Law Firm right now to schedule a free, confidential consultation by calling our office at (937) 356-3969 or sending us a message online.
Montgomery County Hit and Run / Leaving the Scene Information Center
- Duty to Stop Laws in Ohio
- Ohio Hit and Run / Leaving the Scene Penalties
- Defense to Hit-Skip Charges
If you are involved in an accident, you are required under Ohio law § 4549.02 to provide the other driver or a police officer reporting to the scene with the following information:
- Your name
- Your address
- The registered number of the motor vehicle involved in the accident
- The name and address of the vehicle’s owner if it is not you
Additionally, there are two other requirements of the law that depend on the other vehicle:
- If the other vehicle is unoccupied or unattended — You need to securely attach the information above, in writing, “to a conspicuous place in or on” the other vehicle.
- If the other driver is injured or unable to comprehend and record the required information — You need to notify the police and wait for law enforcement or emergency personnel to arrive on the scene.
You face possible fines and jail time if convicted of a hit-skip crime in Dayton, and there can also be possible suspension of your driving privileges. The severity of these penalties is determined by the level of harm allegedly caused:
- You may serve up to six months in jail and be ordered to pay as much as $1,000 in fines for a hit and run / leaving the scene accident resulting in no injuries.
- You may serve up to one year in jail and be ordered to pay as much as $2,500 in fines for a hit and run / leaving the scene accident resulting in serious injuries.
- You may serve up to five years in jail and be ordered to pay as much as $10,000 in fines for a hit and run / leaving the scene accident resulting in death of another individual.
There are any number of reasons that a person may leave the scene of an accident without stopping to exchange information or check on the health of another driver. Some of these valid defenses to Dayton hit skip charges might include, but are not limited to:
- You did not know you caused an injury or damage
- You were not driving the vehicle involved
- You had an emergency situation that prevented you from remaining at the scene
- You did not willfully leave the scene (i.e. your own passenger demanded to be taken to a hospital)
- You were not made aware of any injury at the scene of the crash
Find the Leaving the Scene Lawyer in Dayton
It can be an extremely overwhelming experience to be accused of an Ohio hit skip accident, but the Joslyn Law Firm can develop a legal defense that helps you achieve the most favorable outcome to your case. Our hit and run / leaving the scene attorneys represent clients throughout Montgomery County, including Beavercreek, Xenia, Fairborn, New Carlisle, and Kettering.
You can contact the Joslyn Law Firm today to schedule a free consultation about your hit and run / leaving the scene accident. Call our firm at (937) 356-3969 or send us a message online.