Driving with a Suspended License
Although a first conviction for driving with a suspended license is only punishable as an unclassified misdemeanor in Dayton, any subsequent offense for driving with a suspended license can result in serious penalties and punishments, including a jail or prison sentence, fines, a criminal record and/or a permanent revocation of your license.
You may have received criminal charges for driving with a suspended license in situations when you weren’t even aware your driver’s license was suspended. For example, the suspension may have arisen from an underlying criminal offense you did not know you were charged with.
Therefore, it is important to hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer in Dayton who can help you resolve any prior criminal charges that lead to the driving with a suspended license charges and help you reinstate your driving privileges.
Dayton Driving With a Suspended License Lawyer
Contact the Joslyn Law Firm for a consultation today about your alleged driving with a suspended license offense throughout the areas of Dayton, Kettering, Huber Heights, Troy, Piqua, Springfield, Beavercreek and Fairborn. Brian Joslyn is experienced in defending traffic offenses in Ohio and will make every effort to help you achieve the most desirable outcome for your particular situation. Contact the Joslyn Law Firm for a free consultation at if you have been charged with driving with a suspended license throughout Dayton, Ohio.
Driving With a Suspended License in Dayton
According to section 4510.11 of the Ohio Revised Code, an individual can be charged with driving with a suspended license, or driving under suspension or in violation of a license restriction if they operate a motor vehicle on the public roads and highways of Ohio, or while on any public roads or highways that are used for public travel, while their license is suspended, unless they have been permitted to drive a vehicle under limited use, such as to work or school.
Dayton Reasons for a License Suspension
An individual’s driver’s license may be suspended in Ohio for a number of reasons and underlying criminal offenses, such as:
- A conviction for aggravated vehicular homicide,
- A conviction for any OVI offense,
- A conviction for soliciting,
- A conviction for vehicular homicide,
- A conviction for vehicular manslaughter,
- A court order or judgment revoking or suspending a license,
- Certain medical conditions or disabilities,
- Failing a driving test,
- Failure to appear,
- Failure to comply with civil penalties,
- Failure to pay fines, and/or
- Too many driving points on a driving record.
Dayton Penalties for Driving While License Suspended
As defined in the Ohio Revised Code, an individual charged with driving with a suspended license can be convicted of a misdemeanor of the first degree, which is generally punishable by a jail sentence up to 180 days and/or a fine up to $1,000.
Additionally, an individual who is convicted of driving with a suspended license will face a mandatory class seven suspension of their driver’s license, which can result in an additional suspension of their driving privileges for up to one year.
An individual that has been charged with their first driving with a suspended license offense can face an immobilization of their vehicle for a period of 30 days and impoundment of their vehicle’s license plates for 30 days. A second offense for driving with a suspended license can result in immobilization of their vehicle for 60 days and impoundment of their vehicle’s license plates for 60 days. A third driving with a suspended license offense can result in criminal forfeiture of the vehicle.
Ohio’s Driving Point System
According to the Ohio Rev. Code § 4510.036, an individual can be assigned points on their driving record for committing certain traffic violations. An individual can face a temporary or permanent driver’s license suspension if they accrue too many points on their record within a specified period of time. An individual that drives with a suspended license can receive six points on their driving record.
An individual who receives 12 points or more on their driving record in a period of two years can receive a class D driver’s license suspension, which can result in a suspension of driving privileges for a period of six months. Once the suspension period is over, the driver must do the following in order to reinstate their license:
- Complete a driving instruction course,
- Demonstrate proof of financial responsibility through insurance, and
- Take a driving exam and/or a physical exam.
Anyone that has accrued between two and 20 points is permitted to take a driving instruction course for a credit on their driving record. The credit is worth two points and the driver must not have also been ordered by the court to take the driving course. Additionally, a driver is only permitted to one credit in any three year period, and can only take the course a maximum of five times in their life.
Joslyn Law Firm | Dayton Attorney for Driving While License Suspended
If you have been accused of driving while your license was suspended throughout the areas of Montgomery County, Miami County, Clark County and Greene County, contact the Joslyn Law Firm today. Brian Joslyn is a knowledgeable Dayton traffic crime defense attorney who will make every effort to fight the allegations against you and have your driving privileges reinstated. Contact the Joslyn Law Firm at today for a free consultation about your criminal charges for driving with a suspended license in Dayton.