Gross Sexual Imposition

Unwanted sexual contact without actual penetration can lead to gross sexual imposition charges. Touching, groping, grabbing, or molesting another person without their consent is considered gross sexual imposition. It’s a serious charge with harsh penalties including steep fines, possible incarceration and the potential to be registered as a sex offender. 

If you or someone you know has been charged with gross sexual imposition, it’s imperative you gain trusted legal representation. A skilled lawyer can assess your case and uncover all your available legal options for you. They can argue on your behalf in court and present compelling evidence to the jury that proves you don’t deserve these charges. Do what’s best for your future and get in contact with qualified legal counsel today.

Lawyer for Gross Sexual Imposition in Dayton, OH

You do not need to have penetrative sex to be charged with gross sexual imposition in Ohio. The charges are reserved for people accused of unwanted sexual contact with another person. However, the penalties for gross sexual imposition are similar to those of sexual assault. In either scenario, you could face potential prison time and possibly be labeled as a sex offender.

 If you or someone you know has been charged with gross sexual imposition, it’s imperative you contact experienced legal representation. The attorneys at Joslyn Law Firm have been actively representing those accused of sex crimes in Ohio courts for years. We can apply our resources and strategies to your case to help you achieve the best possible result.

Call us now at (937) 356-3969 to set up your free consultation today. Joslyn Law Firm represents people throughout the greater Montgomery County area including Moraine, Englewood, Vandalia, Dayton and Centerville.


Overview of Gross Sexual Imposition in Ohio


Back to Top

What’s the Difference Between Sexual Imposition and Gross Sexual Imposition?

You may have already heard of the crime sexual imposition in the past and you’re wondering what’s different about gross sexual imposition? The crime sexual imposition is found under section 2907.07 of the Ohio Revised Code and it’s defined as unwanted sexual contact with another person or forcing two or more people to engage in nonconsensual sexual contact. Gross sexual imposition is an enhanced form of sexual imposition because of added factors. 

A person is considered guilty of sexual imposition if they have sexual contact with another person without their consent or force other people to have unwanted sexual contact. The following are circumstances sexual imposition can fall under: 

  • You knew the victim’s ability to control your conduct was substantially impaired;
  • You were at least 18 years of age and four years older than the victim;
  • The victim was older than 13 years old, but younger than 16
  • You were a mental health professional and induced the victim into believing the sexual conduct was a part of treatment; or
  • You intentionally performed sexual contact known the victim considered it to be unwanted, offensive or reckless

You can be charged with gross sexual imposition if you do any of the above actions as well as other aggravating factors. These factors include:

  • You forced, threatened, or deceived the victim by impairing them with a controlled substance so their judgement and resistance is minimized;
  • You were aware the victim was impaired through an intoxicant for medical reasons;
  • The victim was under the age of 13;
  • You were aware the victim was unable to resist or consent because of advanced age, or a mental or physical condition; or
  • You touched the genitalia of a person younger than the age of 12

It’s important to note that not knowing the victim’s age during the offense isn’t considered a viable defense in court. Even if the minor deceived you into thinking they were older.


Back to Top

Penalties for Gross Sexual Imposition in Ohio

Gross sexual imposition is an enhanced version of sexual imposition, meaning the penalties are much more serious. Sexual imposition is normally charged as a first-degree misdemeanor. However, a gross sexual imposition charge is considered a felony offense in Ohio.

A conviction for gross sexual imposition will likely result in a fourth-degree felony. If the child is under the age of 13 years old, then the judge may impose a mandatory prison sentence. The maximum penalties for a fourth-degree felony include:

  • Possible fine up to $5,000
  • Up to 18 months in prison
  • Possible registry with the sex offender database 

Threatening force or using a controlled substance to impair the victim will enhance the crime to a third-degree felony. The penalties for a third-degree felony include:

  • Possible fine up to $10,000
  • Up to 5 years in prison
  • Possible registry with the sex offender database

It’s important to understand that if the crime involved any of the following factors, then the chances of having a mandatory prison sentence is very high. 

  • Evidence other than testimony of the victim corroborating the charges;
  • The crime was against a person under the age of 13; or
  • You were previously convicted of a sex crime and the victim is under 13

Back to Top

Sex Offender Registry in Ohio

Most people focus on prison time when they’re alerted of the penalties surrounding gross sexual imposition. However, being labeled as sex offender can have a tremendous impact on your life. Sex offenders have issues gaining employment, housing and being approved of loans. They face a negative social stigma from their peers daily and may be required to disclose their status to their neighbors if they move communities.

If you’re convicted of gross sexual imposition, you may be required to register as a Tier 2 sex offender. You will be required to reregister every 180 days for a span of 25 years. Your current or future employers will also be able to access this information for as long as you’re obligated to register as a sex offender.


Back to Top

Additional Resources

Ohio’s Gross Sexual Imposition Statute – Visit the official website of the Ohio Revised Code to learn more about their gross sexual imposition laws. Access the site to find more information about gross sexual imposition and other relatable sex crimes.

 Sex Offender Registry – Visit the official website of the Montgomery County Police Department to use their software known as OffenderWatch, which is essentially a sex offender registry. Access the site to locate sex offenders in your area, see their crimes and if they’re registered.


Back to top

Defense Lawyer for Gross Sexual Imposition in Montgomery County, OH

If you or someone you know has been charged with gross sexual imposition, it’s crucial you seek trusted representation. You could be burdened with steep fines, possible prison time and even the potential to register as a sex offender for up to 25 years. With such steep penalties, there’s no reason to hesitate. Call Joslyn Law Firm for quality legal counsel today. 

The attorneys at Joslyn Law Firm have years of experience representing people with sex crime allegations. We understand how damaging it can be to your reputation, career and personal life. That is why we will apply our talent, resources, drive and knowledge to your case. Call us ow at (937) 356-3969 to set up a free consultation. 

Joslyn Law Firm accepts clients throughout the greater Dayton area and surrounding cities including Centerville, Moraine, Brookville, Englewood, and Miamisburg. 


Back to Top

This article was last updated on July 25, 2019.