Underage OVI / OVUAC
The National Minimum Drinking Age Act of 1984 compelled every state to adopt 21 as the legal age to purchase and possess alcoholic beverages. When it comes to driving under the influence (DUI) crimes, Ohio is considered a “zero tolerance” state with minors who allegedly drink and drive.
While motorists under 21 years of age can certainly be traditionally charged with operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs (OVI) if they have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or higher, minors can also be charged with operating a vehicle after underage alcohol consumption (OVUAC) for BAC levels that are less than 0.08 but 0.02 or greater.
A person who is not of legal drinking age could potentially be charged with OVUAC after consuming a single drink.
Underage OVI Lawyer for OVUAC in Dayton, OH
If your child was arrested in Ohio for drunk driving, it is critical for you to immediately seek legal representation. The Joslyn Law Firm‘s DUI attorneys in Dayton fights to protect the future of minors facing OVI charges all over Montgomery County, including Dayton, Huber Heights, and Kettering.
Dayton OVUAC attorney Brian Joslyn also defends clients in several surrounding communities such as Troy and Piqua in Miami County, Beavercreek and Fairborn in Greene County, and Springfield in Clark County. He can review your case and help answer all of your questions during a free, confidential consultation as soon as you call (937) 356-3969.
Montgomery County OVUAC Information Center
- How is an OVI different from an OVUAC charge?
- What happens if a minor is arrested for subsequent OVUAC offenses?
- Where can I learn more about underage drinking and driving?
Underage DUI Charges in Ohio
Minors arrested with a BAC of 0.08 or higher can face a traditional OVI charge, which is classified as a first-degree misdemeanor. When the BAC is less than 0.08 but 0.02 or more, then an alleged offender will be charged with OVUAC.
OVUAC is a fourth-degree misdemeanor in Ohio, punishable as follows:
- Up to 30 days in jail;
- Fine of up to $250;
- Driver’s license suspended for 90 days up to two years; and
- No driving privileges for 60 days after the arrest.
In order for minors to regain their driving privileges, they may be required to file for financial responsibility insurance, pay a reinstatement fee of $475, and possibly retake the driver’s license exam. Additionally, alleged offenders can also be required to complete a remedial driving instruction program or a juvenile driver improvement program if they are under 18 years of age when they are convicted.
Repeat OVUAC Offenses in Dayton
If a minor is arrested for a second or subsequent drunk driving offense in Ohio, the penalties become more serious. Whereas an initial OVUAC charge is classified as a fourth-degree misdemeanor, second and subsequent offenses are considered third-degree misdemeanors.
Additional OVUAC offenses can result in:
- Up to 60 days in jail;
- Fine of up to $500;
- Driver’s license suspended for one year up to five years; and
- No driving privileges for 60 days after the arrest.
Ohio Underage OVI Resources
Samaritan Behavioral Health — The mission of Samaritan Behavioral Health, Inc. is to “provide mental health and substance abuse services that touch, teach, and heal.” On this website, you can find links to various resources for mental health and substance abuse. Some topics are specifically for college students and middle school students.Samaritan Behavioral Health Administration
601 South Edwin C. Moses Boulevard
Dayton, OH 45417
Community Resource Guide — This guide from the Montgomery County Coalition for Drug-Free Communities provides information about substance abuse services and resources available in Montgomery County. You can learn more about child and adolescent services, crisis intervention services, outpatient programs, and residential or inpatient programs in the area. The guide outlines the types of specific services provided, hours, eligibility, and costs (if applicable).Montgomery County Drug-Free Coalition
345 West Second Street
Dayton, OH 45422
We Don’t Serve Teens | Consumer Information — “We Don’t Serve Teens” is a national campaign of the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) to reduce underage drinking. On this website, you can learn what you need to know about underage drinking, what can happen to teens who drink, and steps you can take to reduce teen access to alcohol. You can also find a section that provides answers to some common questions and assertions people ask or make about teen drinking.
Find a DUI Lawyer for OVUAC Charges in Dayton
Were you or your child arrested for an underage drunk driving offense in Ohio? The Joslyn Law Firm fights to get OVI and OVUAC charges reduced or dismissed for clients in communities throughout Montgomery County, Clark County, Greene County, and Miami County.
Brian Joslyn is an experienced Dayton criminal defense attorney who has been certified not only by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration as an instructor in the administration of standardized field sobriety tests, but also by National Patent Analytical Systems, Inc. in the operation, diagnostic, verification and calibration of the BAC Datamaster Breath Alcohol Testing Instruments.
Let him put his experience to work for you. Call (937) 356-3969 or submitting an online form to set up a free consultation.